The Ohio Correctional and Court Services Association
Ohio's Chapter of the ACA

News & Updates




Dr. Jimmy Lamar Johnson was born on September 17, 1951 in Alabama. He received his B.A. (1972) and M.S. (1974) in Psychology from Tennessee State University. He continued his graduate studies at the University of Cincinnati, as well as working as a legal social worker in the Public Defender Division of the Legal Aid Society in Cincinnati from 1974-1979. He received his Doctorate of Psychology from Wright State University, School of Professional Psychology in 1983. Dr. Johnson completed his Pre-Doctorate Internship in Wisconsin, working as a staff psychologist in the Division of Corrections. Moving back to Dayton, Ohio he worked for the Dayton Mental Health Center, the Dayton Correctional Institution and was Director of Psychology for the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, Bureau of Mental Health Services in Columbus from 1991 until his death in 1996. Dr. Johnson was the recipient of numerous awards during his illustrious career, The Ohio Psychological Association Public Sector Psychologist of the Year Award was given to Dr. Johnson on November 7, 1996 for “sustained, dedicated service to consumers and psychologists in the public sector.”

His accomplishments were many. His professional affiliations were numerous. Among them was his long time dedication to the Ohio Correctional and Court Services Association. He served as president of OCCSA, after holding several other positions, from 1995 until his death in 1996. Dr. Johnson took tremendous pride in his profession. He believed in education and professional development. He was truly dedicated and committed to his profession. With this in mind, the Dr. J. Lamar Johnson Scholarship was founded and is awarded in the amount of $500 to an a student in some form of higher education in a criminal justice related field of study.

Check back for the application and deadline information for the 2018 scholarship...



The OCCSA Scholarship Committee received a total of 33 applications for this year's Richard P. Seiter Scholarship.  The committee would like to thank everyone that applied and believe all the essays were well written.  The students listed below best demonstatrated the ability to define the problem and provide a practical solution giving a humanitarian approach.  Each student will be awarded a $5,000 scholarship.

On Behalf of Ohio Correction and Court Services Association, the following students have been selected for the 2017 Richard P. Seiter Scholarship:

Hailey Barr - Miami University (Political Science)
Parent/Legal Guardian - Casey Barr, Warren Correctional Institution

Grant Nicholas Sparks - Wittenberg University (Biology/Pre-Med)
Parent/Legal Guardian - Bryan C. Sparks, Southern Ohio Correctional Facility 

Samantha R. Widmer - Hillsdale College (Political Economy)
Parent/Legal Guardian - Scott Widmer, Ohio Parole Board

Aaron Neely - University of Kentucky (Sociology)
Parent/Legal Guardian - Katrina Neely, Dayton Correctional Institution

2016 Richard P. Seiter Scholarship Recipients:

Cheyanne Caswell - Florida Southern College
Parent/Legal Guardian - Warren Gebhart, Madison Correctional Institution 

Joshua James Tungate - Kent State University 

Parent/Legal Guardian - William Tungate, Ohio State Penitentiary

Steele Gaumer - Otterbein University 
Parent/Legal Guardian - Eric Gaumer, Adult Parole Authority 

Tristen Davis - Ohio University
Parent/Legal Guardian - Michael Davis, Operation Support Center

Each recipient will recieve a $5000.00 scholarship for the upcoming school year.  Congratulations! 




Copyright (c)2011 The Ohio Correctional and Court Services Association &